Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Our little piggies

These little girls LOVE to eat! And boy, can they be messy too :) This was after lunch today...Needless to say they got a wipe bath, bath night was last night- they must have missed that memo...
Yummy cereal and sweet potatoes!


They haven't turned down anything yet! We have tried rice and oatmeal cereals, sweet potatoes, carrots, green beans, prunes, peaches, bananas, apples, pears, and squash. I just made m first batch of baby food last week. So far, so good... I hope they continue to eat this great! Ha, who am I kidding...toddlerhood will strike one day and they will begin to revolt, just like their big brother. But until then, we will enjoy our little happy girls with appetites that match those precious big smiles!
Peyton LOVES to stick out her tongue, she is a silly girl...
They also have been trying to hold their bottles. These were from a few weeks ago when they started trying. Now they get it up there pretty good. Just need to work on holding it still, obviously there are much more exciting things going on around here to distract them from bottles these days...



These were their first tastes of yummy solids, we started right around five months because Kayleigh decided she need much more to make her little belly happy. And it worked great! So far they are eating at lunchtime and dinnertime. I tried breakfast last week and they really weren't digging it yet, so we are happy with our little schedule and the doc says it is working great! So much for our little girls, they weighed in at 17 pounds and 17 1/2 pounds last week at their 6 month checkup. They are growing and changing so fast. I cannot believe they are already 6 months old, almost seven now...I don't remember it going by this fast with Lucas...is that just how it goes with baby #2 (&3), or is it just me? But they are doing great in every way, and I am so thankful for that!
Wow...they even look little in these and that was only about a month ago!

Summer heatwave

This summer has been ridiculously HOT around VA. And I am NOT a fan of summer heat, especially with three little ones..I long for fun trips to the zoo, amusement parks, parks, etc. but not in these dog days of summer, where are you fall??? Oh, how I miss playing outside. This past weekend it was 105 both days- YUCK!!! I'm gonna move to Canada I think... ;) I digress.. This little boy still wants his outside time so we have to find ways to make it happen. What do you do when it is really hot outside?
Well you play with water in any way you can! ;) Lucas helped daddy wash the car and mommy's swagger wagon (HA- those commercials crack me up) in the yucky summer heat....we have to find inventive ways to have fun in the summertime around here! So when the temps rise, we break out the hose and cool off.
The van also apreciated the bath, go figure...we hadn't had any rain in weeks before that. Well, that evening and the next day- it rained 3 TIMES!! ;) We'll take it when we need it so badly...Really the rest of our yard is not that green. Speaking of green, don't you love his little tie-dyed shirt? He made that at school a few weeks ago- I was impressed!
Such a big boy and such a great little helper, thanks Lukey-Luke!





Thursday, July 22, 2010

Sisterly love

I love my sissy.... She is my bestest friend in the whole wide world!

We LOVE to play and talk together, we even roll on top of one another to chat....We...hey, wait a minute...what are you doing to me? That is NOT NICE!!! Oww! That really hurts, please let go of my cheek! Mom, can you help me out here???!!!OK, that is much better, thanks mom ;) My sissy is the the bestest!!!




Sunday, July 18, 2010

4th of July Fun

We celebrated the 4th the way we have for a few years now, spending great time with family that came for a visit. My aunt and uncle have been coming to VA for years now over the 4th of July weekend. They always helped mom and dad volunteer at the Heritage Festival Run in Fredericksburg, and then we all got together for a cookout and fireworks. Well, the run was on the 3rd this year so that was a no go for them since they were traveling but dad enjoyed himself! The fireworks fizzled for us since the closest were at KD, and I'm not really sure how that works from the parking lot + three little sleepy kiddos. Maybe we will be brave enough to give it a shot next year?
As you can see, we had a great time catching up, playing in the sprinklers, riding tricycles, playing ball, and eating some yummy food! John, Karen, and Justin joined the rest of us for the fstivities. We alway have a great time when we all get together even though it is only a couple of times a year :) Lucas has so much fun with everyone, and I'm pretty sure the girls loved the attention too ;) We just needed a longer holiday to keep celebrating!

Friday, July 16, 2010

A day in the life of...

Welcome to our daycare center! ;) I thought since we have been hit or miss with posts I could share with you all a little about our daily routine around here. We have gotten lucky the last few weeks and the girls have been sleeping much better. They have been sleeping without getting up to eat since around 9 weeks but they are much more restless than Lucas ever was, even when he was sick! Guess we were blessed with our one great sleeper first :) But they have been waking up and needing a little assistance getting back to la-la land, typically just a paci plug. Don't think we have picked them up unless they seemed to be in dire straights. But anywho, even that has worn down to just a couple of times a night, and really after 4:30 am. We are very thankful for the consecutive hours of shut eye- it makes the world of difference!
She is our little gymnast in training :)Some playtime with Scarlett and Shelby :)When you play this hard, see what happens?
So our real day usually starts around 6:30. Dad and Lucas are getting ready to head of for school and work- but not before checking in to give hugs and kisses to us girls :) Lucas also loves to run in and tell me " I went pee-pee in the potty!" after his morning potty break( This is still a WIP, we aren't pushing it but slowly working on it, he really does go then- that is another story ;) The girls enjoy their morning bottles while we relax with the Today show, diaper changes, mommy eats breakfast, and then we all lay back down for another hour or so. I really need to give this up soon, but it is so nice to have a little extra quiet time :) One of them usually sleeps about an hour and the other will go for two or so...go figure! So I get some one on one time with someone and get dressed for the day. Next we make bottles for the day, get cake supplies rounded up if I need to work, and settle in for breakfast. Time for bottle #2 and another diaper change! Then we have group playtime and move into our independent playtime/ mommy heads to the kitchen to work or do some chores. The early waker typically meltsdown and needs a nap around 11am. So I get some one on one time with the one that is still awake. Then they are both out for naptime until about 12:30 or so. Next is lunch for everyone! Bottle # 3 and solids for the girls- I thought this was gonna get hectic but we have worked ourselves into a good routine- I can get them both fed and changed in about 45 minutes. Then we have more playtime, worktime, clean-up, & naptime for the babes until daddy and Lucas come home around 5 pm. From there time flies! Between catching up with Lucas, fixing and eating dinner,feeding the girls dinner, bathtime for the crew, books, dishes, and bedtime, and sometimes back to work for momma, then bottle #5, and finally some shut eye, I really don't know where the evening goes! Well the whole day really....

That is just a glimpse into our day... If I included all of the nitty gritty details it would be a little longer to say the least! Just wait until Lucas is here three of those days too, lookout momma!!! Needless to say this job is the hardest, most time consuming one I have ever had BUT completely worthwhile and I wouldn't change it for the world! I feel very lucky to be here and a such a big part of their lives each and every day :)