Thursday, March 18, 2010

Update




I really have every good intention of keeping everyone updated much more frequently but other things always seem to creep up and take precedence over the blog. Like precious baby girls, a sweet little boy who wants to play with his trucks, a lonely puppy, laundry, dinner, never-ending bottlewashing, etc. So if anyone still even reads this anymore, I apologize! ;)

We are here and doing good. The last two months are a blur to put it best. A wonderful blur overall but seriously, how is it already March, and springtime? Going from 11 weeks of bedrest to hitting the ground running to take care of twins is insane to put it best. Factor in recovery from a C-section and that makes it a little more interesting. I did pretty good for the first 6 weeks, even had a good 6-week follow up, BUT ended up with an infected hematoma in my abdomen that was pretty big and VERY painful for the 7th week. After more ultrasounds and a round of antibiotics and pain meds I am feeling better and hopefully my body will do its "job" and eventually reabsorb this thing. That was the general consensus, sounds much better than surgery to me! I have had a little more pain over the last two days but i am hoping that I just did too much lifting, or something for my extremely weak muscles...Time will tell...I have to remind myself that I did have major surgery.

Enough about me, I know you really are here for the wee-ones ;) All three are doing great. Lucas is still a fantastic big bro that loves to kiss his sisters and help with bath time and diaper changes. He is my official "stuff gatherer" and "rinser"- gotta watch him with that cup of water! He can clean a bathroom in no time at all! He is still loving school and brought home the cutest leprechaun hat yesterday, I need to try to get a picture of him with it on ;) He loves to ask us now "who driven that truck/van/car? I guess since he has it down pat what they are specifically, we are more concerned with who does the navigating... Very cute! This also transcends into the grocery store and walks....who is dat man? What's he got in his cart? He got Cheerios and chips! What's that man doing? (Running)....A sweet moment a few weeks back was at dinner, he was eating his supper and just looked at me and said "thank you for making dis momma, it's yummy!" ;) He also runs up to us and gives us hugs with " I love you momma/daddy", no prompts at all!! Such a sweet boy. We are excited about getting outside more for fun finally after all of the snow this winter.






As for the girls, they are growing and changing so fast! We just had their two month appt. Monday which went great, minus the 4 shots each! Poor babies, I had erased that part from my memory with Lucas, guess it was the trauma. They screamed briefly and calmed down rather quickly this time around, hope they all go that smoothly! They received glowing reports from the Dr. thus far. Their nicknames are chubs and chunk :) Peyton weighed in at 10 lb and 3 oz, and Kayleigh was 9 lb 11 oz. both were almost 23 inches. I didn't expect them to be that big, I was thinking around 9 lbs. This might not seem to big to those of you who popped out 8 pounders but remember, they started at 5.15 and 5.6 so we see them as chubs and chunk! Some fun things they have been up to:

Both are:
-napping much better these last few weeks- on their own, this is a big step!
-Sleeping 6 hours at night, a few nights were a little longer... ;)
-Love their bathtime.
-Don't mind tummy time.
-Holding their heads up great.
-Like to suck on their hands. Peyton could be working on sucking her thumb...
-Eat every 3-4 hours during the day, about 4 oz. at each feeding. I stopped nursing at 6 weeks because I think I was going crazy...literally, two babies can wear you down quickly and I was on the verge of requiring medication. I had good intentions but it just didn't work for us. It would be different if I could sustain both of them but that just isn't the case...So now I pump and they get formula and breastmilk from a much happier momma! As the doc says- That is so much more important than what they drink-regardless of what you are meant to believe/feel guilty about. They are healthy and doing great. At twelve weeks we will switch to straight formula since the pump is a rental and we have spent enough on that with three months.

-A problem is-They have been really gassy and therefore fussy as a result since about 4 weeks. We tried it all, I adjusted my diet, we switched formulas, gas drops, gripe water, colic calm, Karo, tummy rubs, bicycles, etc. Not much really helped. Poor Kayleigh gets down right miserable at times and is inconsolable. They were getting constipated and gas just kept building up in their poor tummies. The only way they would go to the bathroom was if I used the thermometer to "probe" them, poor babies! Well I think we have even managed to turn that corner, we added a special tea brew thanks to a friend's suggestion and upped their Karo and they actually pooped on their own yesterday!!! I was so excited!!!:) So sad that I am that excited about poop, but true!



As for each baby-
Peyton:
-still has her head FULL of hair, it does seem to be a lighter brown now...
-loves to coo and smile at you- she is so sociable already;) It really melts my heart to see that big grin.
-watches me wherever I go in the room and uses that as her cue when she needs her momma time. She was pretty needy for awhile- AKA- always in my arms, but this last week or two had really become a happy girl most of the day, no matter where she is!
- loves to grab my hair- OUCH! or shirt, etc.
- has the cutest cry/pout when she starts to get upset about something. But still can go from 0-60 in no time flat, especially when big girl wants to eat!
- really only likes her paci when she is sleepy.
- likes to snuggle and root when she is sleepy.
- starting to fall asleep on her own once she is swaddled and comfy. This was NOT the case for MANY weeks, so we are excited!





Kayleigh:
- one of the most observant, bright eyed, babies I have ever seen. She has been this way from the get-go.
-very relaxed, and easygoing for the most part. Happy to hang out on her own and watch what goes on around her.
- Loves the swing!
- quite the cuddler when she does have one-on-one time (this is much harder with two!)
-reminds us so much of her big brother, they look so much alike at this age!!!
- Loves her paci! Once again, she is a little Lucas...
- Coos and smiles too, but makes you work a little harder for it!
- Has the sweetest expression and eyes :)
- Likes to blow bubbles.
- Stretches out her long fingers and waves them around.

Sounds like enough for this digest. Sorry for the ridiculous amounts of pictures in this post, I realized it turned out to be a bit excessive but hard to dwindle down so many weeks worth! I will try hard to get on here more often and have lots more to share. But wee ones are calling! ;)

3 comments:

Carrie Hewitt said...

Oh Heather! I loved the update and all the pictures especially! You are such a good mommy! They look amazing and so do you. So glad to hear things are going smoothly...miss you!

Kellie said...

I read and I am amazed. You are wonder woman!!! What beautiful, happy kiddies. Best wishes.

The Fulops said...

You are incredible...we need to get down your way sometime in the next few weeks...miss you lots! The girls look so sweet and Lucas is too cute...I love your little quotes that you included :) You guys are wonderful parents and they are all a product of you both! :) Take care and we'll chat soon! :)